Car window tinting in Austin is a practical decision and a significant add-on to your vehicle. They keep your vehicle cooler, help hold the glass intact in the event of an accident, and decrease glare. Tinted windows also give off a sophisticated appearance.
However, Texas drivers should be aware of the state’s window tinting regulations. The Texas Department of Public Safety enforces Laws directing the placement and darkness of tinting films. To pass a state vehicle safety inspection, the vehicle’s glass must be examined to ensure that it satisfies specific visible light transmission standards.
According to Texas ‘ state law, windshield glass must allow at least 70% of the outside light to enter your car. A tinted windshield must also have a reflectance level (amount of light reflected) of no more than 25%.
Texas has outlawed the use of red, amber, and blue tinting. According to Texas law, the whole front windshield can be filmed/tinted with a “clear” non-tinted film that does not change or color the glass when viewed in natural daylight. A visor strip can also be installed on the top of the front windshield.
The visor strip cannot be lower than the AS-1 line on the windshield. If there is no AS-1 line present, the legal limit is five inches from the top of the windshield.
The side windows of a non-commercial car in Texas are subject to a simple tint ordinance. The front two door windows must have a VLT (visible light transmission) of at least 25% (tint film plus glass).
“As long as the vehicle has side view mirrors, there are no darkness limitations on back side windows.”
However, tint reflection should still not be more than 25% above reflectance level for front and rear side windows.
Some Texans suffer from light-related illnesses, including melanoma, lupus, or photosensitivity. If you qualify for a medical exemption, you may put darker films on the windshield and the two side windows closest to the driver’s seat.
Consult Texas tint laws for further information on the medical exemption’s precise guidelines. Meeting these criteria needs the help of a car window tinting specialist with the skills and capability to take all of the essential measures to evaluate whether the car complies with Texas’ legal requirements.
Window Tint Violation Ticket Cost
“How much is a window tint ticket in Texas?” This is one of the most often asked questions by car owners. The fine is determined by the county in which you were ticketed. The charge is also influenced by:
- How much darker is your tint than the allowed VLT advised by the law?
- Do you have previous window tint violations?
- Did you remove the tint after your first violation?
If it’s your first offense, you could be ordered to remove the tint and fined $20 to $25. If you don’t remove the tint and get a second window tint ticket, the fine may be as much as $275, plus court expenses.
The fine may continue to increase with each ticket. We urge that you obey the regulations to avoid being pulled over by Texas law authorities.
Why is window tinting beneficial to your car?
The best and most successful approach to keep your car cool all year is to install a window tint on your vehicle. This also helps you avoid future damage to your seats and dashboard. There are several tinting options available, including those that protect your vehicle from heat.
If you’re coming from a hot region, especially here in Austin, consider tinting your windows to keep the heat at bay. You won’t have to blast the air conditioner every time you get into the vehicle.
Given that there are specific laws from every state, it is best to have your car window tint installed by a professional. Sure, DIY tints are less expensive, but the expense of a heavy fine is far higher. The last thing you want is to be in trouble with the police because you didn’t use the proper window treatment. There’s no need to be concerned because professional tinting companies are well-versed in local rules.